COVID-19 INFO CENTER

Providing compassionate care, community, and connection in this critical time of need.

Shanti programs are continuing to provide essential services, including: care navigation, peer support, and delivery of medication and other essentials. Programs will be expanding their service provisions as San Francisco continues to open back up.

Please inquire with program directors with any specific questions:

HIV Programs

Eric Sutter
esutter@shanti.org | 415-674-4754

Peer Advocate Care Team (PACT)

Alyssa Nickell, Ph.D.
anickell@shanti.org | 773-531-4898

LGBTQ+ Aging & Abilities Support Network (LAASN)

Joanne B. Kipnis, MSW
jkipnis@shanti.org | 415-625-5214

Pets Are Wonderful Support (PAWS)

Katherine D’Amato
kdamato@shanti.org | 415-625-5202

Margot Murphy Women’s Cancer Program

Judith Biletnikoff Harkins, RN, MSN, MPH
jharkins@shanti.org | 415-674-4770

Ongoing Essential Services Include:
  • Delivery of pet food and supplies to hundreds of clients across the city
  • Emergency pet fostering and boarding
  • Accessible veterinary care, including financial support, transportation, and care coordination
  • Dog walking services via PAWS Pet Assistance Volunteers for our clients with limited mobility
Service Modifications
  • Offering pet food and supplies pickup on an appointment basis (clients can call care navigators to schedule a pickup)
  • PAWS offices are closed until further notice (except for scheduled appointments)
  • Group dog washes at Pet Food Express remain suspended until further notice
  • PAWS Ask-the-Vet services suspended until further notice
Questions/Need for Care Navigation?
  • Clients with last names beginning with letters A-J, please contact Georjean Morado: gmorado@shanti.org or 415-265-9208 (call or text).
  • Clients with last names beginning with letters K-Z, please call Raquel Bernaldo rbernaldo@shanti.org or 415-815-8244 (call or text).
  • Other questions, contact Katherine D’Amato, PAWS Program Director at kdamato@shanti.org or 415-625-5202.

PAWS Service Expansion

  • PAWS is partnering with Fully Belly Bus to provide free pet food days to homeless and marginally housed individuals
  • PAWS is adding pet food deliveries to clients in high-risk groups who are advised to stay home